Centre Vidéotron de Québec

Everything’s ready

 

Project description

There it’s done. Quebec has finally its amphitheater to be able to compete with the Bell Centre in Montreal. And no, despite this introduction, we are talking here of a multifunctional place for up to 20 000 spectators and not a competition between Bell and Videotron call centers. Videotron Centre is an amphitheater with a high-performance technology infrastructure and a multifunctional structural environment allowing it to easily change volume to adapt to different programs (music, sports, theater, television). Whether it’s technical premises, access to technical spaces above the ice, public circulation areas and reception areas of the spectators, all these volumes, and many more, have been thought to offer what is best in the entertainment and cultural industry.

Informations :

CLIENT : Ville de Québec
DATE : September 2015
OVERALL CONSTRUCTION COST : 400 m$

Our implication

The challenge of this project was enormous and, to soak up the philosophy and technological characteristics necessary for a multifunctional arena of this size, we visited various famous amphitheatres; Pittsburgh’s Consol Energy Center, Montreal’s Bell Centre and Saputo Stadium and Amsterdam’s ArenA. Our work started immediately upon completion of Technical and Functional Programme with responsibility, as a consultant in scenography and multimedia, to identify the needs of this new place. So we wrote prescriptions for a main PA system, the main scoreboard, the power rings display, a large rigging system and a video broadcast system.

Some hightlights

27 capture points
HD broadcast and video editing
Motorized LED display scoreboard
40 zero fleet electric motors for all the scenic dressing
8 clusters of loudspeakers
2 LED rings for advertising
Centralized automation system
Large outdoor LED screen
Multi-viewer display system
Fiber optic distribution and connection solution
Sound systems in all the public circulation areas
Unique audio and video control room in Quebec province

We have faced several different types of challenges during the project; the technical ceiling and the motorization of different equipment above the technical grid, achieving a video production facility used as much for the scoreboard as for the broadcasters and integration of mechanical ventilation in the structure of the scoreboard. This ballet of integration and complementarity between the different types of equipment have increased the complexity of the design.

For the creation of video production infrastructure, Videotron Centre needs to accommodate a range of broadcasters for a wide variety of events. We therefore oriented toward an innervation 100% digital on fiber covering all the levels of the amphitheater and defined by two separate systems. A system associated with production management for the scoreboard and a system for broadcasters. The use of digital and fiber has quickly emerged to respond perfectly to the use of capture points required by the customer, the NHL and HD television broadcast in real time.

Centre Vidéotron de Québec

Le rendez-vous culturel des Bois-Francs

 

Description du projet

Voilà, c’est fait. Québec a enfin son amphithéâtre pour pouvoir rivaliser avec le Centre Bell de Montréal. Et non, malgré cette introduction, nous parlons bien ici d’un lieu multifonctionnel pouvant accueillir jusqu’à 20 000 spectateurs et non d’une compétition entre les centres d’appels de Bell et Vidéotron. Le Centre Vidéotron est un amphithéâtre avec une infrastructure technologique très performante et un environnement structural multifonctionnel lui permettant de modifier facilement son volume pour pouvoir s’adapter aux différentes programmations (musicales, sportives, théâtrales, télévisuelles) que va recevoir ce lieu.  Que ce soient les locaux techniques, les accès aux espaces techniques au-dessus de la glace, les zones de circulation publique et les zones d’accueil des spectateurs, tous ces volumes ont été pensés pour offrir ce qui se fait de mieux dans l’industrie du spectacle et culturelle.

Informations

CLIENT: Ville de Québec
DATE : Septembre 2015
COÛT DE CONSTRUCTION : 400 M$

Notre implication

L’enjeu de ce projet était de taille. Afin de pouvoir nous imprégner de la philosophie et des spécificités technologiques nécessaires pour un aréna multifonctionnel de cette envergure, nous avons visité différents amphithéâtres de renom (Consol Energy Center de Pittsburgh, Centre Bell, l’Aréna d’Amsterdam) et les coulisses du Stade Saputo. Notre travail a débuté dès la réalisation du Programme Fonctionnel et Technique avec la responsabilité, en tant que consultant en scénographie et multimédia, d’établir les besoins de ce nouveau lieu. Nous avons donc rédigé des prescriptions pour un système de sonorisation principal, un tableau d’affichage principal, l’affichage circulaire secondaire, un système de levage de grande envergure et un système vidéo broadcast.

Faits saillants

27 points de captations
Diffusion et montage vidéo HD
Tableau d’affichage central en DEL et motorisé
40 moteurs électriques de type « zero fleet » pour tout l’habillage scénique
8 grappes d’enceintes acoustiques principales
Deux ceintures DEL pour les fascias publicitaires
Système d’automatisation centralisé
Écran DEL extérieur de grande superficie
Système de visionnement multi-image
Solution de distribution et de raccordement en fibre optique
Diffusion sonore dans l’ensemble des zones de circulation
Régie audio et vidéo unique au Québec

Plusieurs défis de natures différentes se sont ainsi présentés à nous. Un plafond technique et la motorisation des différents équipements au-dessus du gril technique, la réalisation d’une infrastructure de production vidéo servant autant au tableau d’affichage qu’aux télédiffuseurs, l’intégration de la mécanique de ventilation dans la structure du tableau d’affichage principal. Ce jeu d’intégration et de complémentarité entre des équipements de natures différentes a augmenté la complexité de la conception.

Pour la création des infrastructures de production vidéo, le Centre Vidéotron devait être en mesure d’accueillir toute une panoplie de télédiffuseurs pour des évènements très variés. Nous nous sommes donc orientés vers une innervation 100 % numérique sur fibre, couvrant tous les niveaux de l’amphithéâtre et défini par deux systèmes distincts. Un système associé à une régie de production pour le tableau d’affichage principal et un système pour les télédiffuseurs. L’utilisation de la fibre et du numérique s’est rapidement imposée pour répondre parfaitement à l’utilisation des points de captation requis par le client, la LNH et la diffusion télévisuelle HD en temps réel.